Opinions on this bite training philosophy ? - Page 2

Pedigree Database

Family Protection Import Male $6800
Male for sale

Young male for sale
Male for sale

Versatile German Shepherds
Female for sale

HerBazhen

by HerBazhen on 26 April 2018 - 21:04

O good lord!! I posted the wrong link...that didn't work! I was fighting my connection to try and come back to fix it...so sorry!

Thank you sunsilver, for trying to fix it !

Susie~ I think you understood what I meant. I just don't know the lingo...lol

He takes a dog that has already been trained to bite...and tweeks it...building confidence... He starts when he says, "Who's gonna come in and crush my world"...... This is something I never understood...I think the guy is a smart fella...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGsrE1fAm-4


by joanro on 26 April 2018 - 21:04

As for video of this training bing available to the public....first, I don't believe in censorship of books, nor the internet.
Second, I have been to police k9 demonstrations, open to the public and videoing was not prohibited...the training exercises I saw at different demonstrations, in Chicago and Hendersonville, NC., were a heck of a lot more intense than that video....in Chicago, one k 9 handler had three dogs on the field at one time; a lakenois, aged and a Pitt bull...he had them all in a down, side by side in the middle of the field. Then one at a time, he sent them at the running decoy. After they caught him, he called that dog off and sent the next dog. The Pitt bull was last, and hit the decoy so hard he brought to the ground at a full run. It was impressive, seeing the control...the other two dogs remained on a down, facing the dog working without breaking his down. That was not anything that ever crossed my mind to copy.
During the demo in NC ahellicopter landed on the field, two dogs were released...one germanshepherd and one Rottweiler... They were both sent onto decoys in opposite directions....the Rotti pulled the driver out the window of a pickup truck, the gsd ran a decoy down who escaped out the passenger door of the truck.....very impressive, but not anything I'd ever consider to do with my dogs.

by ValK on 26 April 2018 - 23:04

during watching video and hearing what he says, first thought comes to mind - to what did come 
LE/military world, if they need to teach destined for real life work dog to... bite.
more looks like self-PR of trainer but if that true condition, then how humble civilian can find a decent dog.

p.s. i don't see any ethical issues with video. attack by dog on moving vehicle was around as long, 
as any kind of moving vehicles exist.

by joanro on 27 April 2018 - 00:04

Valk, the problem is if a civilian sent a dog to bite someone leaving in a vehicle...that would not be Personal Protection.
HerBazhen

by HerBazhen on 27 April 2018 - 00:04

I'm looking for opinions on this mans philosophy on building a "more confident" bite, and his way of teaching an "out". It is different than what I have seen. Do you think it would make the dog work better ?

I didn't mean to ruffle any feathers by posting the wrong video. (which is now working for some reason)

by joanro on 27 April 2018 - 01:04

We are discussing the video Sunny posted for you. There is merit to discussing the scenario, as pertains to personal protection for civilians.


by ValK on 27 April 2018 - 01:04

HerBazhen if my opinion will count, then i say it all very wrong.
i can assure you, in East block breeding model, no one bothered themselves with "improving bite" in one particular dog. 
if dog don't show sufficient traits (strength in bite, boldness and stubbornness in fight, etc.) such dog would be 
just written off and never been used neither for work and for breeding.

you see, artificially pulling effectiveness of a dog into what supposedly should be already inborn - very bad practice, which 
did bring the breed to where it now. one can imprint, build-up, improve, etc. as much as whatever he or she want but all that 
effort will die with dog and you'll go to build-up, improve, imprint again with offspring of this dog.
and so on, and so on, with every new generation getting more and more weaker dogs.

HerBazhen

by HerBazhen on 27 April 2018 - 01:04

Got ya, Joanro, Thank you.

I just wanted to make it clear, my comment about the first video (sunny posted for me) was meant for the video above. I don't think the guy is brilliant for teaching a dog to jump into a truck....lol

by ZweiGSD on 27 April 2018 - 03:04

Correct me if I am wrong (I am not a dog sport person) but doesn't schutzhund/IPO and ring both have attacks where the decoy is escaping/fleeing? There is no threat to the handler so why would you send the dog to bite? Therefore they should not be taught or performed by civilians.

These are TRAINING exercises, not do the exact same thing in real life exercises.

And, Susie, I agree with you. It is about the training, not the car. The point of the video is how to train the dog in a new scenario with baby steps and backing up if you have to to get to the finished product. He just used the vehicle bite work to demonstrate his points.
Western Rider (admin)

by Western Rider on 27 April 2018 - 05:04

I keep posting how to upload a Utube video only post whatever is to the right of the = marks

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGsrE1fAm-4

 



You must be logged in to reply to posts










Contact information  Disclaimer  Privacy Statement  Copyright Information  Terms of Service  Cookie policy  ↑ Back to top 

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!