Opinion on a belgian malinios import - Page 1

Pedigree Database

by Kaity68 on 20 October 2019 - 11:10

I'm looking at a belgian malinios that was imported here from france. Great bloodlines, dog has shown excellent drives for sport or civil work, health clearances have been passed, hes been training in france for french ring, ready for his brevet now and has the protection side of things down. Foundation in all other areas of french ring. Overall great dog, 2 yrs old. Given his pedigree, age, and training, what would you pay for him?

https://cs.working-dog.com/dogs-details/6401359/Ozark-des-Deux-Sabres

This is his brothers pedigree, same as his. 

I would also like an opinion on color, he is blue. Though he was not bred to get said color. It occured naturally.

by Centurian on 20 October 2019 - 12:10

   I generally don't prefer to share my most inner thoughts but this time I make an exception because I see the PDB has become a griping and complaining place about how people where scammed , taken over the hurdles , cheated ... because people either lack experience or they can't stop and think using common sense.

    So the Brevet , to me that is to much a generality and tells me nothing about the dog. I ask myself even before I tjhink about buying a dog : ' what attributes and traits am I looking for in the dog that I want to buy . I  also ask myself : what am I going to do with that dog , my purpose and  for the dog.  Then I search for THE  dog that suits my needs and purpose . That is to say I personally do not see a dog first and decide if that dog is for me  . For the OP sake ,  I also ask ... and to me this is the most important question : ' WHY ? Why in the world was that dog imported and why are they selling this dog ? ' . Now don't misjudge me about this because , personally I simply do not want to hear a Bull sh** excuse from any one as to why a 2 year dog , that someone spent so much time teaching , is selling it off .. nor do I want to   hear a fake story just because of this reason or that reason ... [ BTW I have never seen a blue malinois , but then again I may consider myself a GS expert however I do not claim to be mal expert - In henral I can say that color , for many reasons, is a very very important gentically , as it relates to the the intrinsic as well as the extrinsic value of a dog ] . So the color blue ,,, I say Hmmmmm .

 

    What would I pay ? I pay for the dog for exactly , no more and no less , what I deem the value of that dog is  to me and what the dog is worth to me ..And not with intention of being arrogant but more so to be honest  ,  I add that many times I would actually tell someone that they would have pay me to take that  dog , for some of dogs that I had seen .. just saying .

    In short know what you need and what and  what you are willing to pay for that dog  when you not jusr see but also Evaluate***  that dog [ or pup ].  Get comprehensively all the facts and information before you buy , set your price for the dog. I said you set you price for the dog  and don't worry what someone else would or would not pay for the dog. What matters is what tou are willing to pay on the value that dog /pup is to you .....

by Hired Dog on 20 October 2019 - 12:10

Was this dog bred and trained to be sold? If not, why was it sold a couple of times by the age of 2 and after all that training? Those are my main questions, first.
As far as the color, I personally could not care less if the dog was purple with pink polka dots, does it fit my needs is the question.
Answering your question about price will leave you with a lot of different opinions in here that will probably confuse you, especially if you are making an "emotional" purchase.
What do you want this dog for, what would its future be with you? Is it a pet, something you are hoping to continue training with in FR and how realistic are you about this?
Is this dog something you can live with, does it fit your current circumstances, have you ever owned or worked a Malinois before?
These questions may sound strange, but, they are the first things that go through my mind when someone is considering a dog like you described, but, is asking around what strangers would pay for one.

by Hired Dog on 20 October 2019 - 13:10

Admins, I believe there is a problem with posting. I got an error message when I hit sent and now I see my post here 3 times.

Western Rider (admin)

by Western Rider on 20 October 2019 - 13:10

checking

by Centurian on 20 October 2019 - 14:10

Oli or Administators , can someone help me ? Just about every time I write a post I hit the wrong keys in my initial typing . I go back and correct the mis typed words and phrases . When I hit the 'submit' button the text in the post , changes quite a bit from what I had corrected . Not only does the text and spelling change but quite often the text format that I wrote changes. IFor examole , I write indented paragraphs and often the text appears in block form without paragraph indentation in the post . I tried to use the PDB edit feature and I still have problems even when I have edited the post . I edited the last post and it was perfect in grammer and spelling . However , when I hit the 'submit' button much of my post had changed from what I had corrected and edited.
The last post I also got an 'error medsage' when I submitted the post as Hired Dog did. Thank you if you can aid me with this problem .
mrdarcy (admin)

by mrdarcy on 20 October 2019 - 14:10

Hired dog having the same issue myself but ignore the error 404 as the post does go through. There are several issues with the site at the moment, Oli working on the site. Centurian I will report your issues to Oli. Please bare with us for the time being.

by Hired Dog on 20 October 2019 - 14:10

Very well sir, thank you for your time!

by Centurian on 20 October 2019 - 15:10

Hired Dog there are two sides to what you say about color. Many of my friends , some of them police officers , did not care about many features. As a matter of fact they would go to the rescues and even take a mixed breed if the dog could fulfill their needs , never mind the color of the dog. And IMOp I think that is AOK .

However , color is directly linked to genetics. Color is very very very important in this respect . Color is an indication to the purity and quality of the genetics . An example : white GSs . Yes , some one can say that they are intersted in the dog if it suits thier purpose but what many people do not know , or they refuse to understand is that many dogs without the correct breed color are flawed dogs . A white Gs is a substandard GS . And with the color white , meaning lack of pigment , there is the lack of proper genetics / termperament in the white GSs . That is to say that many or the majority of white GSs are Sharp [ sharp defined in USA as the dog has an abnormal reactive reresonse to stimuli ] . IMOP if the dog fits your needs , then fine. But a dog has to have a certain color and a there is a breed standard for that color for a reason - That reason relates often to temperament i.e. soundness and /or other traits that make up temperament. So if a dog , even a lab is not of a certain color , then even that dog I wonder about... BTW , if you understand labs you know that within the colors of that breed you see a difference in the expressed genetics too . IMOP , black having the best of the genetics . Case in point : for breeders and some others , color is very very important- even critical . IMOp if the dog is not of the standard color one best truly evaluate that dog and ask why and what difference it will make or will not make.

by Nans gsd on 20 October 2019 - 15:10

My concern would be health genetics as well as temperament etc. All a genetic factor. Centurian you are correct about the color genetics also. So with the liver I would not buy him at all unless he can pass all health genetics as well as a temperament test.

You must be logged in to reply to posts






Contact information  Disclaimer  Privacy Statement  Copyright Information  Terms of Service  Cookie policy  ↑ Back to top 

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!