German Shepherd Dog > People never cease to amaze me (30 replies)
People never cease to amaze me by jaggirl47 on 11 September 2010 - 20:25 |
| These people posted again. http://www.pedigreedatabase.com/german_shepherd_dog/classifieds/106717.html Really? From a mod: What is the problem? |
by Prager on 12 September 2010 - 18:35 |
| The dog is fine. Prager Hans www.alpinek9.com |
by sueincc on 12 September 2010 - 22:12 |
| Hey Jaggirl: Do you mean this ad?: http://www.pedigreedatabase.com/german_shepherd_dog/classifieds/106717.html from this kennel? http://www.vonkasekuchen.com/index.html This might not be the kennel or bitch I would be looking to buy a puppy from, but I don't see anything really untoward in the kennel or the ad. In the old days I would have BUT I am older now and learning to live and let live! |
by jaggirl47 on 12 September 2010 - 22:20 |
| Let's see if this goes through this time...... Edited by moderator: Jaggirl your post was accidently deleted. I also see nothing wrong. It is not a fraud. IMO Thanks for the heads up. We will let this thread stand for now. |
by jaggirl47 on 12 September 2010 - 22:27 |
| Sorry, my last post was deleted or something. http://www.pedigreedatabase.com/german_shepherd_dog/forum/57697.html?pagen=1#58349 This is the original thread. It is a 15 year old girl. Her pup is 11 weeks old and not the one pictured. Her last litter, the sire was 16 months, the bitch was 14 months. The bitch ran away, she replaced it with a new pup. I contacted her to try to find out what she is trying to accomplish. She said she will be doing Schutzhund and will title the pup next year. She is also planning on breeding the pup next year at a year old. I asked on the last thread if someone could contact her and give her some advice. I am far from a breeder, but even when I contacted her, she didn't care to listen. Edited by moderator: Sorry we are learning the system. If it was fraud or wrong pictures we would take action. |
by starrchar on 12 September 2010 - 22:37 |
| Good point Sue, but the bitch they are planning to breed is only 4 months old and the breeding is planned for next year. Even in December of 2011 she will only be only 17 months old, so it would be impossible to have OFA'd hips and elbows, except for pre-lims! The other bitch they plan to breed next year is 2 months old right now, so by the end of next year she only be a little over a year, so again it would be impossible to have her OFA'd. THat's just for starters. It seems they have a nicely designed website, but the content is very amateurish. This is your typical BYB, trying to look professional, but they have a lot to learn. |
by jaggirl47 on 12 September 2010 - 22:44 |
| Mod, what happened to the last paragraph in my post? I know this is new here so was it accidental? Moderator edit: yes. |
by jaggirl47 on 12 September 2010 - 23:06 |
| OK, thanks mod.... The reason I worry over this stuff is that I have an almost 10 y/o GSD with several genetic issues. I have no problem with people wanting to breed. I have a problem with people who do not know what they are doing and are not seemingly open to learning. I greatly dislike it when people just throw dogs together to make money. You end up with a dog like I have. An expensive hot mess that took years and alot of money to diagnose and treat. |
by sueincc on 12 September 2010 - 23:17 |
| Oh now I see what you are saying, and you are right, and it's a BIG red flag! Since they say the dog was 4 months old at the time of the photo, and the photo is date stamped 9/2/10, that means she was born 5/2/10. The earliest they could even submit the xrays would be MAY 2, 2012. So the very earliest she could be certified and bred would be LATE 2012, no way in 2011 !!! Unless of course they are talking about prelims. The ad says: " SHE WILL BE OFA'D / HIPS AND ELBOWS BEFORE BREEDING.". Some breeders will tell first time puppy buyers the parents have been screened by OFA, meaning the dog had prelims done, or that they sent the xrays to OFA (maybe they don't mention the dog did not receive a passing grade). The only other explanation is they could mean SV "a" stamp program, but even still, what with submitting xrays overseas, waiting for results, waiting for her to come into season, I think it's highly doubtful she would receive an "a" stamp in time to be bred in 2011. So to me, this ad is very misleading, intentional or not. |
by nonacona60 on 13 September 2010 - 00:02 |
| I think there were threads directed at this ad or one very similar to this one....its not the first ad this particular breeder has posted......No matter what other people think, they probably will not stop doing what they think is correct.....As the mod stated, it is not a fraudulent ad, so that breeder has the right to place an ad here just as everyone else does....JMO |
by sueincc on 13 September 2010 - 00:31 |
| I must have missed where it was said by anyone that the person didn't have a right to place the ad. Who said it, and can you please also tell me where ad placers "rights" are listed? |
by jaggirl47 on 13 September 2010 - 00:44 |
| My point is that this person needs to be educated. Badly. |
by sueincc on 13 September 2010 - 00:47 |
| But you did contact her, right? What did she say about the OFA stuff? |
by jaggirl47 on 13 September 2010 - 01:12 |
| She said she was doing her best, that she was training them for Schutzhund, and that they would be OFA'd before they were bred. I also said something about breeding ages. She said again she was doing the best she could, that she was 15, and she does this stuff after school. She also said people paid her $950 per pup (from the litter when the bitch was 14 months) and that she knew she could get $1600 per pup with breeding rights, $1250 without. She said she has someone mentoring her. Obviously not someone good. |
by nonacona60 on 13 September 2010 - 01:26 |
| I think its a matter of interpretation....When the moderator said it wasn't fraudulent, I took it as the poster had the right to post the ad...Now had it been a fraudulent ad, that possibly taken away that person's right to post the ad....Like I said, its just a matter of interpretation...or opinion.....Nothing to get upset over..... |
by sueincc on 13 September 2010 - 01:32 |
I don't know Jaggirl, you did your best, it sounds like she in fact knows exactly what she's doing as far as not really doing OFA, but not mature enough to realize the consequences of her poor breeding practices. |
by VomMarischal on 13 September 2010 - 01:35 |
| jag, it was very good of you to counsel her. |
by nonacona60 on 13 September 2010 - 01:44 |
| Maybe if some of the more successful, experienced and knowledgeable breeders would try to guide her, maybe that would help also....However they would have to approach her in a caring and respectful manner....Not only point out what she is doing wrong, but also mention what she is doing right.....JMO |
by sueincc on 13 September 2010 - 01:46 |
| nona no one is upset. I am just trying to understand what the heck you are saying. You said the breeder had a right to place an ad here like everyone else. Since no one ever disputed whether or not the breeder could post an ad, your statement defending her rights seems to come out of left field. |
by nonacona60 on 13 September 2010 - 01:52 |
| If someone post a fraudulent ad, that would take away the right to post an ad.....Do you think the mod would allow a fraudulent to remain posted? The mod is the one that mentioned it was not a fraud... (fraudulent).... At any rate, its just my opinion, so thats the end of it. No need to have to explain...JMO....leave it at that..Just ignore it if you don't understand it...Its not that important..... ***************************************************************** People never cease to amaze me by jaggirl47 on 12 September 2010 - 22:09 jaggirl47 Posts: 23 Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 01:29 am Let's see if this goes through this time...... Edited by moderator: Jaggirl your post was accidently deleted. I also see nothing wrong. It is not a fraud. IMO Thanks for the heads up. We will let this thread stand for now. |






