Professional Trainers... I need your opinion please. (video playlist) - Page 3

Pedigree Database

Beautiful import female for sale
Female for sale

Czech pups out of direct imports
Puppies for sale

Dual purpose dog for sale
Male for sale

HerBazhen

by HerBazhen on 18 March 2018 - 01:03


Centurian.... Thank you for clearing that up for me. When you said, " You are making so many mistakes..." I thought...you thought, I was the one training in the video.

To clear it up for you, hopefully, the men handling my boy are not policemen. One of the men is a helper, and the other is the owner of the training facility. This place imports dogs from Europe, and trains them for obedience, detection, facility dogs, and tracking. They have placed dogs in several police departments, in Wisconsin. The owner also told me he was on a dog training show on National Geographic channel on TV. ( I am not familiar with it )

I am by no means new to dogs, but painfully new to professional training. I have always trained my own dogs, my own way, for me. I have always been able to take my dogs anywhere, with full confidence in their behavior. They've traveled with me, and herded my cattle, and stayed solid in uncomfortable positions... like when someone else didn't have control of their dogs. I have always trained my dogs from very young...doing what I call "play training". Being on a farm with my dogs, they accompany me everywhere. I use unorthodox things to teach them behaviors... like hay bale jumping, and watching a gate, to keep live stock in. This is the first time I looked outside to a "professional". I do realize that once you train a dog to bite you can't go back...and that it is a very big responsibility. I also know the difference between IPO, and PP. Thats the whole reason I looked for someone who knew what they were doing. It took me 2 1/2 hours...in three sessions to figure out...I picked wrong. I didn't figure it out, for sure, til the last time. (the last 4 videos.) What I saw was the guy hurting my dog, for doing what he was asked. A pretty basic no no in my little world... you don't hurt him for doing what he was asked to do.

Thank You Centurian, for taking the time to answer me.... and I will always remember, "JUST STOP ". I just didn't know where the line was between my ignorance, and the trainers skill. I was upset when I left that day. Now I'm royally pissed off...and Me...and the "trainers".

Sheri

HerBazhen

by HerBazhen on 18 March 2018 - 02:03


Thank you Bob !

This type of training is new to me... I didn't figure it out until they hurt my dog. (with the whip and grabbing his collar when he was biting) I trusted too much, because I thought they would know what they are doing because they trained dog for police departments. (and military veterans)

Merc was never tied to anything before the first time I brought him to be "assessed" . I thought Merc was pretty well suited for the work, and he has a very stable temperament. I had been playing tug with him, and teaching basic obedience since 9 wks old. Everything I did with him was in a playful way, just building confidence, and basic commands. I didn't like the way he hit against the collar...its why I asked about a harness. I'm sure different trainers use different techniques. It's just in this situation...I knew none of the techniques, which was why to searched out a "professional".

I thought I should be the one handling my dog....all I would have had to do is tell Merc "out" and he would have released the sleeve. I told that to the trainer as well. He said it wasn't time for that ??? That was the beginning of my discomfort.

All I can say is...we both learned something....and now I just hope I can Unlearn what Merc was taught.

Thank You for taking the time Bob !
Sheri

HerBazhen

by HerBazhen on 18 March 2018 - 13:03


Larry S ~ Thank you very much for putting the whole play list up. That is what I was trying to do in the first place !

Sheri

by ValK on 18 March 2018 - 21:03

Sheri, i side with Koots advice, for you it would be more beneficial to go IPO route. particularly if there are clubs in your area.
that will give you much greater opportunity to interact with others with similar interests, learn and gain an experience.
another point you should consider when dealing with paid trainer - the "money talk". even if dog is not suitable for PP, trainer may promise to do all you ask. many dogs been screwed that way because of ignorance and immense ego of owners and trainer's greed.
in the end beside training fees it may cost you also court expenses and fees for dog euthanization .


HerBazhen

by HerBazhen on 20 March 2018 - 04:03

Thank You Valk.... I plan on checking my area for clubs. I think there is one 1 1/2 hours away.

As for the "money talk"...yes, I think I experienced that. I have two pups. One pup, I was sure, does not have the temperament, nor the drive for the work. The owner/trainer tried to make me a deal...both dogs for $100 per hour. I knew the second pup was shy, and weak nerved. I know enough that I don't want a dog like that learning to bite. The trainer said he might be able to work it out of him.

He was also pushing for a board and train. I would never leave my dog with someone I don't know, and one 1 person I do know...and I drive them crazy. I declined. He also chided me because I brought the pups in at 6 mos.(only to be assessed) He said that was very late and we should get them going asap. I told him I thought there was plenty of time....he told me I was mistaken.

I am upset with myself that I didnt figure this all out sooner.... But relieved I did figure it out when I did. I have since found out more information about this guys past...and just how dangerous his dogs can be. IF my dog would have made it through training, he may very well have become a ticking time bomb, and killed someone.

Thanks again for your opinion, and the added advise. The best to you Sheri

DuganVomEichenluft

by DuganVomEichenluft on 23 March 2018 - 14:03

Hi Sheri,

I've been following this thread. I'm glad your gut was telling you something wasn't right. I cringed watching the videos. I knew right away but that's only because I have experience. You made the correct choice in hightailing it out of there. Don't beat yourself up by thinking you took too long to do so. Some of us have been there. Your dog is most likely NOT doomed. He's young. And dogs are resilient.
It's obvious you don't want this thread to focus on this particular trainer. However, it is very beneficial. It could deter others from going to him or help others realize the poor quality training (among other things) so that they can also hightail it out of there.
If you don't want to make it public, could you PM me?

Keep us posted on your boy. He'll be ok.

Brandi
HerBazhen

by HerBazhen on 25 March 2018 - 00:03


Thanks so much for the kind words, and vote of confidence Brandi . I'm pretty sure Merc isn't scared for life...it's just that I'm a stickler for feeling responsible for keeping my animals safe. I don't mind failing me...I hate failing for others...even for my dog.

I have no problem posting who/where the trainers are. I'm just so new, and not sure about the rules for this site, or if it is appropriate.

Again, Thank You... Sheri
Western Rider (admin)

by Western Rider on 25 March 2018 - 00:03

You may post the name of the Kennel/training center/ if you wish. Do not post the street address, or their names just the state city unless you can also post a public posting with that information included so that you are not showing private information that they have not made public


HerBazhen

by HerBazhen on 25 March 2018 - 15:03

Thank You for the information again Western Rider.

In posting the name of this Kennel, I think some may understand why I had some trust (over my gut) in the trainer(s).

I surmise they forgot, my husband is a Veteran too.

Jessiffany's Canine Services , Iron Ridge, Wisconsin

Again, thanks to everyone for your opinions, not filleting me alive for my idiocy, and the many kind words.

Sheri, Merc, and Draven

Koots

by Koots on 25 March 2018 - 23:03

We all have to learn somehow, and when a person is ignorant (in the true dictionary term) one seeks advice and help from a 'professional'. Unfortunately there is no credible way to ascertain a dog trainers' competence, unlike say an electrician who has completed an apprenticeship and will have a certificate of competency (journeyman papers). You are not the first dog owner to fall victim to the unregulated dog training industry so don't feel bad....it is great that you trusted your gut and got your dog out of there before serious harm could be done. Good on you for putting your experience on here and perhaps helping others.

You must be logged in to reply to posts










Contact information  Disclaimer  Privacy Statement  Copyright Information  Terms of Service  Cookie policy  ↑ Back to top 

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!